Medieval shrine of St William on display in York

03 February 2026, The Tablet

St William of York's shrine occupied the nave of what is now York Minster but was destroyed during the Reformation

The Chapter of York

A new exhibition on the twelfth-century saint includes fragments of the shrine destroyed in the Reformation

Fragments of the medieval shrine of St William of York are on display in York Minster for the first time in nearly 500 years.

They are part of a new exhibition. “St William of York: Life and Legacy” includes pieces of the original shrine rediscovered during excavations and on loan from the York Museums Trust.

Appointed Archbishop of York twice in the twelfth century, William fitzHerbert, is credited with a miracle while still alive. The wooden bridge across the River Ouse in York collapsed in May 1154 as he entered the city to take up his second appointment as archbishop. His prayers are credited with ensuring no one on the bridge died.

William did not enjoy the post long: on 1 June that year he became gravely ill while celebrating Mass on the High Altar of the Minster, dying nine days later. There were suspicions – never proven – that an opponent of William had placed poison in the chalice. He was buried before the high altar of York Minster: miracles were reported at his tomb, including one linked to a woman said to have swallowed a frog. In 1226, he was canonised by Pope Honorius III.

The exhibition which opened on 31 January, includes a digital reconstruction of St William’s shrine which occupied the nave of the Minster and was destroyed at the Reformation. He is the patron saint of York. Other exhibits include a twelfth-century Bible and an ivory casket believed to have been made in Sicily and purchased by William on a visit to the island in 1147. The exhibition includes a film on St William, shown on a large screen in a purpose-built cinema beneath the Minster,

Dr Jennie England, York Minster’s research coordinator said: “2026 marks 800 years since St William’s canonisation. This anniversary presents the opportunity to reflect on what St William means to York Minster, its community, and its visitors today, and the impact of his legacy on the history and fabric of the cathedral. 

She added: “The return of these fragments of St William’s shrine to York Minster after nearly 500 years is hugely significant. Although our methods would be unimaginable to the craftspeople who created this medieval masterpiece, our commitment to ensuring that as many people as possible can connect with this holy and historic individual is much the same as theirs. “

“St William of York: Life and Legacy” runs until 3 January 2027. On 18 March York Minster choir will  perform to mark the eight hundredth anniversary of St William of York’s canonisation and on 7 June for his feast day.

Blogpost: www.thetablet.co.uk/blogs/st-william-returns-to-york/

Stay updated — add us as a preferred news source on Google:

Add as a preferred source on Google
Article end