Parish Practice

Water of life

16 April 2014 | by Paul Turner

Parish Practice

Initiation rites reach their climax at the Easter Vigil. Catechumens have celebrated the rites of acceptance and election, exorcisms and blessings, scrutinies and presentations, dismissals and preparation. The final rites are the three sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation and the Eucharist. The initiation of adults may take place at other times of the year, but the Easter Vigil most richly embellishes its meaning. As the faithful celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus from death to life, so the newly baptised die to their sin and rise to life in Christ.The Catholic Church permits two different methods for baptism: immersion and pouring. They are always listed in that order of preference – in the Code of Canon Law (854), the Catechism of the Catholic Church (1239), the Rite of Christian In

Subscribe now and enjoy access to all parts of the tablet website, Including its 175 year archive...

Article List

Latest Issue

Digital/PDF Version

PDF version (iPad-friendly)

Previous Issues
Latest Tweet
Share Us
Tablet Subscription

Manage my subcription here


Sign up for our newsletter

Sign Up