Francis sacks four cardinals on Vatican Bank commission

15 January 2014 | by Robert Mickens

Pope Francis has sacked four cardinals – including former Secretary of State, Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone SDB – from a five-member commission that oversees the activities of the scandal-hit Vatican bank.

It was announced on Wednesday that Francis also dismissed Cardinals Odilo Scherer (Brazil), Telesphore Toppo (India) and Domenico Calcagno (Vatican), while retaining only Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran, head of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue.

All but Calcagno were only eleven months into a second, five-year term, an appointment Benedict XVI made just 12 days before he resigned.

Pope Francis has replaced the men on what is formally called the Commission of Cardinals overseeing the Institute for the Works of Religion (IOR) with Cardinals Christoph Schönborn (Vienna), Thomas Collins (Toronto); Santos Abril y Castillo´ (St Mary Major) and Cardinal-designate Pietro Parolin (Secretary of State).

The members of the commission are to elect a president in the coming days when it holds its first meeting. Cardinal Bertone has been president until being replaced.

Above: the Pope arrives for his general audience today. Photo: CNS/Paul Haring

Latest Issue
Digital/PDF Version

PDF version (iPad-friendly)

Previous Issues
Latest Tweet
Most Read Articles

£100m Heythrop College put up for sale by Jesuits26 September 2016 by Sean Smith

Poland moves one step closer to complete ban on abortion27 September 2016 by Rose Gamble

Pope cracks down on cash payments in miracle approval process23 September 2016 by Christopher Lamb in Rome

At the hour of our deathPremium22 September 2016 by Jonathan Riley-Smith

A mind changedPremium22 September 2016 by Peter Stanford

Breaking down the wallPremium22 September 2016 by Jeroom Heyndrickx

Share Us
Tablet Subscription

Manage my subcription here


Sign up for our newsletter

Sign Up